## WELLINGTON SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIPS 2016

**THE LOOFBOURROW EDUCATIONAL TRUST** was established by Marvel Loofbourrow. The awards are based on moral character, scholastic achievement and economic need and are available to deserving graduating students of the accredited high schools of Sumner County. This year's recipient from Wellington High School is: **DIETRA SOBER.** 

THE SICILY EVELYN ZEKA MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP was established to recognize Sicily's valiant fight against pediatric cancer. It is awarded to a student who intends to pursue a career in the medical field. This year's recipient is: **SKYLER STRUBLE.** 

**THE STEWART CHARITABLE TRUST SCHOLARSHIPS** were established by Trustees, Linda B. and John T. Stewart III and are given to seniors who rank high in scholarship, leadership and citizenship, both in and out of the classroom. The recipients for 2016 are: **ADDYSON DEJARNETT AND CONNOR PHELPS.** 

**THE ROTARY SCHOLARSHIP** is awarded to assist a senior in furthering his or her education at a college, university or junior college. Consideration is given to citizenship, academic potential and financial need in selecting the recipient. The award goes to: **EMILY BAUM.** 

THE EDWIN WINGATE SCHOLARSHIP was established by his family and friends to honor a man who believed through determination and hard work any young person could achieve their goals in life. He was given the opportunity to attend college through the compassion of others and he wanted to provide the same assistance to Wellington High School graduates. Mr. Wingate was a 1950 WHS graduate. The recipient of this scholarship will have the opportunity to renew the scholarship. This year's recipient is: SHANE HUGHES.

MR. AND MRS. A.L. CHASE EDUCATIONAL TRUST was established by A.L. Chase, former Justice of the Peace of Wellington. The awards are based primarily on scholastic achievement and are available to deserving graduating seniors of the accredited high schools of Sumner County. This year's recipient from Wellington High School is: **BAYLEE DEJARNETT.** 

THE SUMNER REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER HEALTHCARE SCHOLARSHIP is awarded to assist a senior in furthering his/her education in the healthcare field. The scholarship funds were raised through a purse auction fundraiser held at the Wellington Chamber of Commerce's Annual Ladies' Night Out event. Through a collaboration of community organizations and the support of local businesses and individuals this scholarship is made possible. This year two scholarships are being awarded and the recipients are: ABBY GOODRUM AND TAYLOR ZIMMERMAN.

**THE LENA M. RUSH SCHOLARSHIP** is awarded annually to graduating Wellington High School Seniors who have demonstrated good citizenship and the scholastic ability to perform the requirements of a college or university education endeavor. This year's recipients are; **JACOB COOK AND HALEY FARLEY** 

**THE CHRIS GLAMANN SCHOLARSHIP** is given to a deserving senior to further his or her education. This year the recipient is: **PATRICK HOLLMAN.** 

**THE WELLINGTON LIONS CLUB** annual scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who is average or above average academically and above average in citizenship and who intends to further their education at the school of their choice. This year's recipient is: **CAMERON SANCHEZ.** 

THE DURHAM SCHOOL SERVICES SCHOLARSHIP is awarded to assist a senior in furthering his or her education at a college, university, junior college or vocational/technical school. Consideration is given to academic potential and financial need in selecting the recipients. The 2016 recipients are: JOZIE CAUDILLO AND AAREON MASON.

**THE FRENCH SCHOLARSHIP FUND,** created over fifty years ago by the late Mrs. Cora B. French, is awarded alternately to a boy or girl. This year the scholarship goes to: **MADISON ADAMS.** 

**THE JEFF BEVAN SCHOLARSHIP** has been established in memory of Jeff Bevan who graduated in 1993. Reflections on Jeff's life teach us the importance of friendship, hard work, and perseverance. This year's scholarship recipient is: **CAMERON BARTELSON.** 

THE W.H. SCHWINN AMERICAN LEGION SCHOLARSHIP is awarded annually. This year the American Legion award goes to: WESLEY GILMORE.

This year THE KENNETH C. LARIMORE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP, endowed by member of the Larimore family and friends, goes to: GRAYSEN DEJARNETT.

THE FLORA E. AND BASIL MARTIN AMERICAN LEGION SCHOLARSHIP is given in their memory to a student who intends to further his or her education at a college of their choice or to a Vocational School that would result in a licensed trade. This year's recipient is: ALLISON MCCUE

## THE WOMEN'S AUXILIARY OF AMERICAN LEGION UNIT # 90

**SCHOLARSHIP** is being awarded to a senior in furthering his or her education at a college, university, junior college or vocational/technical school. The award is based on moral character, scholastic achievement and leadership both in and outside the classroom. The recipient for 2016 is: **MARIAH MOORE.** 

**THE FLOSSIE KOONTZ SCHOLARSHIP** is given this year to a deserving senior. This year's recipient is: **AUNI WILLIAMS**.

**GLADYS CLARK** was the Home Economics teacher at Wellington High School from 1967-1977. She believed in education, hard work and determination and the results achievable from young people willing to combine the three. This memorial scholarship established in her name through the generosity of family, friends and former students is awarded to just such a student who is especially interested in teaching or related field. This year we are pleased to give two students the **GLADYS CLARK MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP: FAITH SHAPLEY AND JASMINE WAGER.** 

THE G.J. ROBERTS, ALICE ROBERTS AND ROBERT H. ROBERTS SCHOLARSHIP, created by the late Mrs. Alice Roberts, is given annually to a senior girl or boy who ranks high in scholarship and citizenship. The recipient is: MCKENNA OATHOUT

The REINECKER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP with support of the class of 1962 is being awarded in memory of Harold, Virginia and Patty Reinecker in honor and recognition of their combined 104 years of service and dedication as classroom teachers. We are proud to honor two students this year: **RYLEIGH BUCK AND JACE LOWE.** 

**LELA COBB SCHOLARSHIP** was established for a graduate from Wellington High School. This scholarship is given to a graduate who secures a college education based on financial need, scholastic record and general aptitude. The recipient is: **RONG NI.** 

THE DICK AND ALICE WILSON SCHOLARSHIP is given to a deserving senior to further his or her education. This year's recipient is: SHELBY MCNAMARA.

**THE CORNERBANK SCHOLARSHIP** is awarded to assist a senior in furthering his or her education at a university, college, junior college of technical school. Consideration is given to community service, academic potential and financial need in selecting the recipient. This award goes to: **WYATT WITMER.**